To purchase tickets to upcoming Whiffenpoof concerts, check out the Performances page.

Order Online

Our online store is powered by PayPal. Feel free to browse through our discography.

« Songs of Yale (2006) | Main | Subtly Different (2004) »

Dragonfish (2005)

Taking its name from the mythical beast that inspired the Whiffenpoof, Dragonfish marks the group's return to its mysterious beginnings.
USD 20

Musical Director: John Mission

Business Manager: Andy Sandberg

Track List:

  1. Aj, Lucka, Lucka, Siroka
    (Bohemian Marching Song; arr. Bartholomew) Helan Gar (Swedish Drinking Song)
  2. Bye Bye Blackbird
    (Henderson/Dixon, arr. Murabayashi '94) solo: Mission duet: Maldonado
  3. Something Like the Blues
    (Jeffries '87) solo: Dolan
  4. The Girl From Ipanema
    (Jobim, arr. Murabayashi '94) solo: Kendig trio: Huerta, Fasano, Mission
  5. Down By the Salley Gardens*
    (Hughes/Yeats, arr. Kelley '86) solo: Sandberg
  6. Too Darn Hot
    (Porter '13, arr. Prestley '77) solo: Hundman
  7. You Can Close Your Eyes
    (Taylor, arr. Brandao '02) solo: Schrum trio: Maltz, Maldonado
  8. New Hymn
    (Taylor, arr. Dodes '95) solo: Fasano trio: Fasano, Fasano
  9. Time After Time
    (Birge '68)
  10. On Broadway
    (Mann/Weill/Leiber/Stoller, arr. Rosenblum '75) solo: Barrett
  11. Little Pony
    (Basie/Hendricks; arr. Rosenblum '75) solo: Maldonado
  12. Waiting in Vain
    (Marley/Lennox, arr. Kim '04) solo: Huerta
  13. Steppin' Out With My Baby
    (Berlin, arr. Maryl '00) solo: Geballe
  14. Have a Little Faith in Me
    (Hiatt, arr. Rodriguez '04 & Coughenour '05) solo: Maltz
  15. Walking in the Air
    (Blake, arr. Phillips '00) solo: Conniff duet: Mission
  16. Midnight Train to Georgia
    (Weatherly, arr. Pritchard '86) solo: Coughenour trio: Dolan, Maltz, Mission
  17. I'll Be Seeing You*
    (Fain/Kahal, arr. Beck '91)
  18. The Whiffenpoof Song**
    (music attributed to Galloway; words by Kipling, Minegrode '10, and Pomeroy '10)

All tracks recorded at Horizon Studios, West Haven, CT

* Recorded at St. Thomas Episcopal Chapel, New Haven, CT

** Recorded live at Battell Chapel, Yale University, October 22, 2004